Learning Areas


The Australian Curriculum is the foundation for curriculum programs in the learning areas of English, Mathematics, Science, Humanities and Social Science ( HASS), Technologies and the Arts.

 Learning Areas

The key learning areas for students at St Francis are:

Religious Education






Health & Physical Education (HPE)

The Arts (Music, Visual Arts, Media, Drama, Dance)

The learning areas of HPE, Music, Dance and Drama (Performing Arts) are taught by specialist teachers.

Curriculum: Inclusive Curriculum

Inclusive Curriculum at St Francis essentially means that the needs of all children are primarily met during classroom activities.  At St Francis, all programmes cater for a diverse range of learning styles and levels, as indicated in the differentiation section of unit plans.

Ways we differentiate include the following:


  • Reading groups structured in different ways –This may be in a small group of similar or mixed ability groups, so that peer support may occur or support from the teacher.
  • Scaffolded tasks – providing different ability goals for different children.
  • Use of digital technologies.
  • Access to extension activities with a Leader Teacher in the classroom.


  • Small groups may work together supported by the teacher
  • Hands on’ and concrete materials to aid understanding
  • Access to extension activities with a Leader Teacher in the classroom.

Active Thinking and Investigation

  • We encourage children to seek out and create their own paths of investigation, by ways of teaching practices such as the pedagogical framework: Solution Fluencies.

 Educational Adjustment Process

Sometimes it is recognised that students may need extra help in some areas of learning or development.  When children have been through an ascertainment for disability called the Educational Adjustment Process, they may receive funding.  The funding results in: assistance by an Educational Support Officer (ESO) working in class, or with the Learning Support Teacher (LST) in the Learning Support Room ‘one – one’ or in small groups; assistance is still provided by the teacher with the interventions that are introduced in daily learning experiences.  There are seven categories of disability support:

  • Intellectual Disability
  • Autistic Spectrum Disorder
  • Social Emotional Disorder
  • Speech Language Impairment
  • Hearing Impairment
  • Vision Impairment
  • Physical Impairment
error: Content is protected !!